To Converse With The Greats

To converse with the greats
by trying their blindfolds on;
to correspond with books
by rewriting them;
to edit holy edicts,
and at the midnight hour
to talk with the clock by tapping a wall
in the solitary confinement of the universe.
-Vera Pavlova
This is a very interesting poem. The first time that I read this poem, I didn’t understand it at all. The words didn’t make sense to me, and the sentence fragments confused me.
8932033483_10260bb2b3_k

Photo ©2013 by Hans Splinter [CC-by-2.0]

I think that this poem needs to be read more than once in order for the reader to generate his or her own meanings of it. My favorite line in this poem is the first phrase: “To converse with the greats/ by trying their blindfolds on.” I think that it is very interesting that she characterized¬†the great people of the world to wearing blindfolds. Who are the greats? And why do they wear blindfolds?
Leave a Reply

