Recess

15086479073_c9ed647192_z

Photo ©2014 by Steve Snodgrass [CC-by-2.0]

In the short story, “Hips” within the book “The House on Mango Street,” the children in the neighborhood chant a double dutch rhyme:

“I like coffee, I like tea. I like the boys and the boys like me. Skip, skip, snake in your hips. Wiggle around and break your lip.”

This chant reminded me of the songs me and my friends sang in elementary school during recess. We would sing things like “Cinderella, dressed in yell-a, went downstairs to kiss a fell-a” as we jumped rope. Or other times we would chant “Chinese checkers, I can call my mommy” as we played hand games. Nenny and Esperanza’s relationship is similar to mine with my friends when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

